VMworld Barcelona 2017 Day 1

Iamachanger

Monday is traditionally ‘partner day’, where the partner organisations get special sessions on sales or technical subjects. The Solutions Exchange is not open so some people believe it is a slow day, but from my point of view it was far from it. I have heard that some people don’t turn up on day 1 which I believe is a waste of the valuable resource that is VMworld.

I set out early to catch up with friends, colleagues and bloggers in the VMTN Community area. Of course CloudCred features high on my list of things to do today so I paid Noell Grier (the CloudCred Admin) a visit on the stand. I also got to meet a couple of my CloudCred and VMUG friends Lino Telera, Andrea Mauro and Noell Grier

day1 cloudcred

Lino Telera, Noell Grier, Andrea Mauro and me.

It was then time to start the Expert led Hands-On Labs (HOL) that I had booked. VMworld run HOLs all the time but the Expert lead ones are something special, a combination of a clasroom like enviroment, with the guys who wrote the HOL leading you through it. I started with the VMware NSX – Getting Started Workshop and then vRealize Automation 7 – Getting Started Workshop.

I think it’s important to spend time looking at technologies that you don’t use but are curious about and VMworld is the ideal environment to do that.

After that It was time for a bit more networking in the VMTN lounge, I was keen to meet up with Elsa Mayer who is VMware’s new Blog Manager who is launching a number of Blogger programs here at VMWorld.

I finished the day off with a self-passed HOL on Horizon to keep my place on the Cloudcred leader board only 5th must try harder!

ccleaderboard day 1

I was lucky enough to get an invite to the VMUG Member party and spent the evening with colleagues from the London VMUG and was able to meet Brad Tompkins (VMUG CEO) and Lori Donaldson (Marketing Director)

Leave a Reply

