VMworld 2016 Day 4

Day 4 of VMworld this year felt a little flat to me this year, there were no keynotes today so the day was for me to spend as I liked. So I started in the VMware village spending time to catch up with a few friends both new and old in the hang space and bloggers area.

Then I was off to a couple of session for the day:

VMware Chief Technology Officer Panel – Trends and Futures, this was a interesting chat on the futures of IT with 4 of VMware CTO’s Paul Strong, Shawn Bass, Joe Baguley and Ray O’Farrell.

My favourite quote of the session was from Joe Baguley “In the future talking about virtualisation will be like talking about carpet” Joe was making reference to the fact the virtualisation is now so commonplace its almost not worth talking about.

How to Manage Personal Settings with App Volumes & ThinApp with Pim van de Vis and Raymond Wiesemann this was another fast pace technical session. As someone who has to do the odd Thinapp every now and then I found this a great session especially as we move closer to upgrading to Horizon 7.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was about now I made a fatal mistake, I went for some lunch and was saying goodbye to a few people in the village. Then I went off to the solution exchange for a last minute run round the hall to pick up any last minute swag but to my horror it was already shutting up. Last year it finished at 4pm but this year it finished at 2.30pm so important point for next year, check the time the solution exchange closes on the last day!. However it wasn’t all bad I took the extra time to get some sightseeing in Barcelona.

Conclusions

So overall this was a great VMworld, I enjoyed my time here, the keynotes were in my mind better than last year, I think VMware are back on track with ESXi 6.5 and the core product set (ESXi, VCSA, VSAN and NSX). Best party for me was the vExpert party I met so many great people there and it was just a nice social venue to chat in. Once again it was great to take part in the CloudCred challenge and come away with the training course voucher. And then finally there is the swag that goes hand in hand with a conference of this size and I will say an extra thanks here to Cohestity and their vExpert swag.

If you want to catch my guest appearance on the Opentechcast podcast you will find it here. http://www.opentechcast.com/2016/10/24/spep01-vmworld-barcelona-2016/

Leave a comment