I’m off to my second VMworld in Barcelona

vmworld 2016.PNG

Well it’s now just four days to VMworld 2016 in Barcelona, I won a ticket last year and had a great time and was hoping to go again this year. I had literally got to the point when I thought I wasn’t going to go and then a ticket came my way, so I must thank my VMware UK account team.

As it’s my second time I have some experience to draw upon and as it’s my first as a Vexpert I’m now really looking forward to some serious networking with colleagues and peers, both new and old.

So as with all things, to get the most out of the experience you need to get planning. So my plan started like this:

  • Book the VMworld Event.
  • Book your flights (the cost only go up).
  • Book your accommodation. I like to get mine closer to the Fira, some like to be in the centre of town.
  • Plan how you’re going to get to your departing airport, I’m driving to Birmingham so I’ve booked some discount parking online.
  • Plan how you’re going to get out of Barcelona airport. Last time I arrived earlier and booked a taxi to collect me, this year I’m arriving later and going to use the free VMworld airport shuttle bus to take me to the Fira so I can register and then get to my accommodation. I also have a backup plan of the L9 Sud Metro to the newly opened Fira metro station.
  • Book your Sessions. Using the web site or App book your sessions early to avoid disappointment, I was rather late this year and several had already become full.
  • Find my passport and European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) although not sure how useful this will be post Brexit!
  • Euros. OMG almost forgot to get some Euros, the exchange rate is terrible at the moment almost 1:1, thank god I’m near a post office.

So Sessions

I must admit that I find it quite daunting to be presented with a list of 542 sessions, knowing that you can only attend around a dozen or so and to be honest that’s pushing it. But I managed to get a place on several sessions I wanted to, including the following:

Monster VMs (Database Virtualization) Doing IT Right [VIRT8290] by Michael Corey. This was one of the top sessions in the US so I decided it was worth seeing in person.

Databases by their very nature are Monster VMs. If Monster VMs are not virtualized properly, they will never perform well and can negatively impact the performance of other VMs on the hosts. In this presentation, we teach you how to properly virtualize Monster VM Databases. We will discuss why you virtualize, installation issues, how to architect for performance, the storage layer, the processor, memory considerations, and the network layer. Topics include NUMA, memory reservations, and how to avoid common mistakes. Lesson learned here help you optimize any workload you are virtualizing, with special emphasis on Monster VMs.

VMware Chief Technology Officer Panel – Trends and Futures [CTO9943] Managed to get a place on this as one of the presenters is Joe Baguley and I hear he is a pretty good speaker.

The role of the Chief Technology Officer is to understand broad technology and business trends, to have deep knowledge of specific technical areas, and through communication, influence and drive the technology direction of specific products, the company and the industry at large. In this panel session the audience will get an opportunity to hear some of the thoughts and opinions, as well as ask questions of VMware’s technology leadership.

vSphere 6.x Host Resource Deep Dive [INF8430] presented by Frank Denneman, Senior Staff Architect, VMware need I say more.

Today’s focus is on upper levels/overlays (Software-Defined Data Center stack, VMware NSX, and cloud), but proper host design and management still remains the foundation of success. With the introduction of these new “overlay” services, we are presented with a new consumer of host resources. Ironically, it’s the attention to these abstraction layers that returns us to focusing on individual host components. Correct selection and configuration of these physical components lead to creating a stable high-performing platform, which lays the foundation for the higher services and increased consolidating ratios. This talk goes into details of physical host resource components, such as CPU (NUMA), memory configuration, and next-gen storage components. It also zooms in on how virtual networking and storage services influence virtual machine configuration and physical host design. Info provided in this talk allows you to get better grips on sizing your virtual data center for today’s high-demand workloads, network overlays, and next-gen storage services.

cc-barcelona-2016

I will also be taking part in CloudCred and the special competitions so look for me on the leaderboards, hopefully I will be near the top. I’m sure I will be found near the CloudCred stand with Noell Grier @CloudCredGeek at some point most days so come and say “Hi”.

Don’t forget meeting me qualifies you for 100 points!

  • Task 907: Meet a fellow CloudCred Member at VMworld 2016.
  • Task 274: Get a photo with a vExpert.

My Top Tip

I’m sure you have read several of these: wear good comfortable shoes is a common one I can agree with but my tip is make sure you have a jumper or fleece. Yes Barcelona is hot, but the Fira has some fierce air conditioning to help cope with the heat and sometimes it can be positively cold if you’re not in a packed place.

And Finally

Don’t take my word for it, if you need more reasons to go then take a look at this one minute video (you may get a surprise).

Leave a Reply

