Review of the last year!

I Thought I should do a review of my last year, now I know most of you reading this will think why now April the 6th it’s not the typical time to review your last 12 months but let me explain.

It was this time last year when I was browsing around the VMware community looking for any study resources for the VCA in NSX when I stumbled on to Cloudcred I joined on April the 6th and from then on I’m almost a daily visitor. So a year on to the day what’s happen to me to warrant a review of the year.

  •  Cloudcred: Well in terms of Cloudcred I’ve now reached level 13 so that currently 240,000 points and achieved 24 badges. My highest personal ranking has been 8th in the world. I created a team the same day I joined and that team has now 29672 points and is currently ranked 13th in the world out of 1945 teams. ccstats1ccstats
  • Blog: Cloudcred ignited my interest in VMware and it wasn’t long before it got me going in the Community, by July I had discovered WordPress and created this Blog and despite having only 18 posts my best hits have been on my post on the Stanly University distance learning VCP course. That has received almost 200 hits in one day and has currently over 500 hits in the 3 months since I posted it. I know these wont set any records but it’s not bad for a Trainee blogger in my first 9 months.
  • Twitter : Since some Cloudcred tasks requires the use of social media and especially Twitter I’ve now posted almost 500 tweets and have 200 followers.
  • VMworld: I won a ticket to VMworld via the EVO: RAIL Challenge and went to VMworld Europe 2015 in Barcelona.
  • AirWatch Connect: My Company sent me to the AirWatch Connect 2 day Conference in London.
  • VMUG: I’ve joined VMUG attended my First London VMUG and am about to attend my second meeting.
  • VMW-ICM5.5 I Completed the Stanly University online distance learning course, VMware 5.5 Install, Config and Manage course. This makes me now eligible to take my 5.5 VCP.
  • vEXPERT: The biggest highlight of all was being awarded vExpert status for my years hard work.
  • Exams: I’ve passed several exams this year.
    • VMware Certified Associate 6 – (VCA6-DCV)
    • VMware Certified Associate – Network Virtualization (VCA-NV)
    • VMware Certified Associate 6 – Network Virtualization (VCA6-NV)
    • AirWatch Enterprise Mobility Associate
    • AirWatch Enterprise Mobility Professional
    • Nutanix Platform Professional (NPP)
  • SWAG: well we all like a bit of free Swag don’t we and after a year like above there was plenty of swag and prizes up for grabs.

My wining’s included an IPAD, a drone and ticket to VMware as well as plenty of vendor swag.

So what are my plans for the next 12 months?

  • VCP: Well I need to get studying for my VCP 5.5 or 6
  • VCA: There are three more VCA6 I want to complete the set (4 x VCA5 and 5 x VCA6)
  • Cloudcred: well I want to complete more levels and there are still 11 more badges to earn. I also want to compile some questions for Cloudcred. Having recently merged my team with the LonVMUG team I’m keen to get the team up to single figures and who knows we might even make top 3 in another year or so.

So as you can see it’s been a busy year and who knows what another year will bring, hopefully I can be active enough in the community by blogging, tweeting and attending events to carry on my vExpert status through another year.

Leave a Reply

