VMware Certified Associate 6 – (VCA6-DCV)

I’ve noticed that VM have recently announced  a number of new retirements (Here) for exams including the VCA certifications that I hold, However apparently VCA certifications are not subject to recertification. I hate the thought of being out date so I am spurned on to update a few of them. There are now a total of 9 VCA certifications 4 for VMware 5 and 5 for Vmware 6. See the VMware site and roadmaps for more info (Here)

So first of all what is the VCA well it’s kind of an entry level qualification for VMware, you simply run through a self-paced CBT that you can return to as often as you want and pick up again or go over a section again, then pass an online exam from Pearson sitting at home rather than going to the test centre. There are different schools of thought as to how valuable a VCA really is however I like the fact it’s an entry level qualification that gives you a stepping stone towards the next, typically a VCP.

The cost of the VCA exams in the UK is £70 +vat so that’s £84, however if you’re a VMUG member that drops by 20% to £56.00 +Vat so £67.20 So don’t forget if that discount is available to you. Which I think is quite reasonable for a qualification to boost anyone’s CV.

I have also been noticing a number of posts on the VCA community’s web site from people saying that they had failed the VCA6-DCV and that they felt there was something wrong with the exam (Here) so I thought I would take a look at the new training material and the Exam.To see more info on the VCA6-DCV see the VMware certification web site (Here)

I must say that the new Data Centre Virtualization Fundamentals [V6] self-paced course was very good, compared to the original VCA Fundamentals courses. It appeared to flow quite well (given the I assume computer generated voices) Its estimated to take 3 hours but I’m a serial note taker, which forms my revision for exams so it probably took me just over 4 x 1 hour stints to get through it. I decided to go straight for the exam the next day and after reading my notes, signed up paid my money and sat the exam. I must say I found it very straight forward and combined with my revision notes and experience I passed it with a score of 380 (The pass mark is 300)

So that gives me VCA number 4 so I think I will try another soon as there are still 5 more to pass. I wonder if anyone else has all 9? Please let me know if you do!

2 thoughts on “VMware Certified Associate 6 – (VCA6-DCV)

    • Hi Tavin,
      Thanks for your question, personally I don’t think so, yes VMware has released some beta exams for vSphere 6.5 but I don’t believe for a minute that they will retire 6.0 exams straightaway, you can still take the VCP in vSphere 5.5 until March 31st this year for instance. In regards to the VCA then yes Im sure that the VCA6-DCV could be retired and replaced with a VCA65-DCV but I don’t think that should stop you. The Current VCA6-DCV exam was updated on 30th of September 2016 (I don’t know why but possibly because the related fundamentals course was updated to reflect 6.5 so maybe that explains it. Also unlike VCPs there is no expiry or retirement for VCA’s so it’s your forever (or until the rules change) hope that helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

